Editing fun times


I’ve been chipping away at the next chapter for Gravity this last week and a half and it’s a tough one.  I wanted to get an update out every week but this piece has a mind of it’s own.  It reminds me every day when I sit down in front of it to edit and rewrite additional pieces that it will be ready on it’s own time, not mine.  Although, that said, it should be up in the next few days.

This story is problematic in it’s own unique ways apart from any other story I’ve posted before.  I am aware that there are what appear to be plot holes in places and that any other characters who have been mentioned aside from Claire and Harper seem to have been put aside or forgotten so far.  Even to me, when I read these chapters myself, the other ‘group’ members are like cardboard cutouts almost.  Most of them have names, a couple of which have been mentioned so far, but they haven’t been talked about or interacted with yet, they’re just … there.

Those characters were written by other people and players in the RPG from which they came, so it would feel wrong to exclude them from the scene completely but to write them in any more depth is just simply not my job, or my right.  They don’t belong to me, and so they are just props for now, in a way.  Because this entire story from start to finish was inspired by these other players and their characters, I feel an obligation to leave the characters be.  They are part of the world that was created, so they must remain.  We’ll just have to see how it plays out a little further on.

Editing and rewriting my own turn posts is challenging because of the large gaps that remain where the other character stories were removed, so I am doing the best I can with what I have.  I still and always have loved the story that I played out in A New Nightmare and I would like to see it through to the end so that hopefully others can get some enjoyment out of reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.  Meanwhile, please bear with me.  There is a plan!  A loose one, if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

