“Or perhaps it is…


These Things

“Or perhaps it is that time doesn’t heal wounds at all, perhaps that is the biggest lie of them all, and instead what happens is that each wound penetrates the body deeper and deeper until one day you find that the sheer geography of your bones – the angle of your hips, the sharpness of your shoulders, as well as the luster of your eyes, the texture of your skin, the openness of your smile – has collapsed under the weight of your griefs.”
— The Space Between Us

View original post

3 comments

  1. You are truly a great writer Ana, as I see it you have your own unique voice. And how you manage to read or write as good as you do when most people need a lot of practice, and you have to take care of 3 kids sort of boggles my mind. I can´t find time in the day to read all I want, not only books about how to write, but then people on the blogs, then the book that I´m reading for fun right now, plus do day to day things. Just can´t fit it in the 24 hours as much as I want to. Props to you gentess

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for leaving this comment. It really made my day. I’ll tell you at least a little of my own secret. The extra time I find comes from a long long battle with insomnia. I’ve got way too many hours on my hands at nights, and a ridiculously active imagination and mind. I actually didn’t write at all for about 15 years and hated it. It’s taken a while to get back into the habit, but as a writer yourself you’ll know that it’s more than worth it. I figure, also, that’s it’s the best tool I have to at least try and leave my own little mark on the world while I’m here. I’m truly flattered by your words. Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

      1. So who said insomnia was a bad thing if it produces great writers.

        I read that you hadn´t written in 15 years, that´s why it was quite amazing to me to see your skills of writing. And yes, we can at least leave our little mark in this big world. And it´s certainly worth it, I too have a ridiculous active imagination, I can be sitting just staring at a stick and start to create in my mind a whole story around that stick.( And it tends to be some outlandish ridiculous but funny thing most of the times) So i actually walk around with a little notebook. I just need to put my thoughts, words, sentences that come to mind, or what I hear or see on paper and later I might use it or not, but if i didn´t do it I´d probably be nuttier than I am now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

