Unspoken promises to a friend


I will make mistakes and upset you.  Please tell me if and when I do.  I really don’t mean to hurt you, but I am careless.  Forgive me.

I will make you question my sanity on a regular basis, as I question yours.

I will bore you to death with my constant rambling, and perhaps even sometimes entertain you with it.

I will forever tease you for your nerd tendencies, but secretly I love you for those.

I will always challenge your negative thoughts and ideas, and if not, I will agree with them depending on my own mood.  Misery might not always like company, but at least I can commiserate and somewhat understand to the best of my ability.

I will sit with you in corners when you don’t want to talk to anyone else, or I will just be quiet if that is what you need.  Although we both know that at times I have a really hard time shutting up.  Still, I will try.

I will defend you to others, even if you are wrong, which you sometimes are, but let’s face it, that in itself is a whole other argument.

I will hold your hand and be strong for you, when you are not.

I will always giggle at your silly jokes at five in the morning, or any time of the day or night.  And if not, I will call you names and laugh anyway, despite how hard I try not to.

I will pull you back if you push me away. If you push me twice, I will stay away if that is truly what you want because I only want you to be happy, whether that is with or without me.

And finally, I will remind myself every single day why you are special to me and hope that you know just how much you are.

Because you are complicated, unique.  You are you.

Leave a Reply

