A Letter: To Bebe Valasar


quill and parchment

Dear Bebe,

Your letter just made my day.  I should apologize too.  I was out of contact with the entire world for a while, I think.  It wasn’t intentional, of course, but it is far too easy for a day or two to turn into weeks, and then months.  And then you end up feeling so disconnected from everyone or everything it feels almost impossible to come back from.  I digressed … already.  I never was much good at getting to the point.  Then again, there doesn’t even necessarily need to be a point does there?  This is what friends do.  They talk about everything and nothing, and that’s just the way it is!

Gosh, listen to me, rambling on.  I must sound as if I’m lacking sleep, or have had too many glasses of wine or something.  I can assure you it is neither.  There is a point to this anyway, after all. 

I missed you too.

I realized that the night I walked into your home and it felt as familiar as if I had been there dozens of times before.  You make a place feel that way, Bebe.  Homely, warm, and safe.  I’m reminded lately of how important friends are, and I feel grateful that you consider me as one of yours.  Good people are few and far between, but we have talked about that many times before, I am sure.

The rumors are correct.  I did remarry.  But that is absolutely a story of it’s own, and one best told over some good food and company.  I’d love to visit again soon.  Maybe I can cook for you and yours.  I never was great in the kitchen, but I did manage to talk my former help into giving up her recipe for Talbuk stew.  It sounds stodgy and plain, but it is the ultimate in comfort food.  Trust me, if you’ve not had it, I’ll make you a believer!

I look forward to catching up with you soon.

Warmest regards,

Your friend,

~Ana.

PS.  Where in Azeroth is Jez these days?  He’s well, I hope, and keeping you warm at nights, at least when he is able.

Leave a Reply

