You lied, Mommy


She was inside a child’s nursery. The walls papered a pale yellow, furnished with a bed, a sofa, a toy chest, stuffed animals and a huge ornate chandelier, and there, in a crib, draped with soft white curtains lay a tiny, red faced, howling baby.

“The child cries for it’s mother’s touch, Lady Stormblood.”

She’d been here before.  He would reach down to scoop the tiny creature from it’s crib and hand it to her, smiling, now.  She was dreaming.  She knew it.  This was all too familiar.

“Mommy?”  Eyla stared at her now, and she was not standing in the nursery anymore, but sitting, upright, in her bed.  “I’ll always be your favorite, won’t I, Mommy?”

Squeezing her eyes closed, confused, she shook her head and then actually pinched herself. 

Wake up, Ana. 

She opened her mouth to answer the child, but on opening her eyes again, she found herself standing barefoot in the middle of the forest. The moon shone through the treetops, fragmented, yet still bright as it hit the forest floor around her.  Closing her eyes, she inhaled through her nose, taking in the familiar scent of the place.  She knew exactly where she was.  A bird cried out somewhere in the distance and she startled as she heard the sound of wood breaking behind her at the same time as if she wasn’t alone.

“You lied!” 

Wincing, she pressed her hands to her temples as her ears started ringing, and the very ground beneath her feet began to feel unsteady as if she might pass out.  The voice was filled with so much rage.  She’d heard it before, right before …

“You lied to me, Mommy!  You LIED!”

The words reverberated in her head and Ana cried out in pain as her head began to pound, dropping to her knees, mouthing the word “No” right before everything went black.

When her eyes opened again, she expected to be awake, or at least somewhere else, but all she felt was the cold forest floor beneath her cheek, the smell of the dirt and foliage fresh in her nose and she moved a hand to brush her hair from her face, but another hand was already there, doing it for her. 

“You lied, Mommy.” 

The words were the same, but the voice, different.

“Wait!”

She cried out as she sat up, in time to see the shock of long flowing red hair disappear into the thick forest ahead.  

And then blackness, again.

Image

About Ana Quinn

I’m a single mother of three very energetic boys aged 12 and under. I lived in Christchurch, one of the largest cities in New Zealand for most of my adult life, until a change in family circumstances and personal for that matter brought me to where I am now, 4 hours North in a beautiful tourist town which, although is incredibly beautiful, is extremely dull, so it is a good thing that I have my loud family as distractions, not to mention a very vivid and over-active imagination. As a child, I used to write, and into early adult-hood but somewhere along the way, I lost my way if you like and blamed the following 15 years of no writing whatsoever as “writers’ block” but I believe now that I have actually picked up a pen again, that fear was a large part of it. Fear of writing some of my innermost thoughts, ideas and even fantasies on paper (or computer screen these days) and having them judged by others. Fear that it would not be good enough. Actually, although I haven’t written anything in story form I have taken part from time to time in forum roleplay stories and long running mmo storylines with others, so I suppose I didn’t quit completely. I’m a huge horror fan and a gamer from way back. I love everything by Stephen King, I’m a huge Silent Hill fan and I’ve played countless rpg horror games. So, in my spare time, which can be all too rare, often, I like to read, write (obviously) and play video games. I look forward to sharing my work with you. View all posts by Ana Quinn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

